13 comments on “A Visual Guide to Scrivener Part II: The Nitty-Gritty

  1. Thanks for this great info, and for the reminder about QuickRef which I keep meaning to put to use. I have had some issues with the compile menu; it’s the only part of the software I’ve found that isn’t completely intuitive. Maybe that’s because there are so many possibilities, it’s hard to make it “obvious” for exactly what I want to do.

  2. That’s a great use for the Quick Reference window. I’ve used it in full screen mode to reference my synopsis, but that’s about it. I love to see how others use Scrivener’s many wonderful features. Thanks!

  3. I really like the typewriter mode in full screen where the typing line is always situated in the center of the screen and each previous line scrolls up from there towards the top of the screen. This works well for me together with larger font, narrow column (wide margins) and that black background with amber or green font. It kind of takes away my dread of typing from top to bottom on an endless white screen.

  4. Great follow-up post Lora.
    How much does it cost? It seems so chock-full of features, it must be expensive. Is it?
    I’m not sure I’d feel comfortable using something as complicated as this. I’d probably do something stupid and create a lot of extra work for myself. Looks like it might be fun to play around with, though.

  5. I checked the web site. $40! I don’t believe that.
    Can you add a frequently occurring word or name (like Rancem) into the dictionary (as you can in Word)?

  6. Carol – That’s definitely the issue I had with the compiler — an overwhelming slough of issues. I had to sit down and decide exactly what I wanted my finished product to look like before I dove in, otherwise I just sat there slack-jawed.
    Gwen – Thanks! Some of the fun of this is seeing how other people use Scrivener as well. These posts definitely aren’t trying to introduce a “right way” to use it, just to give people ideas that they might not have had before.
    Alan – Typewriter mode doesn’t work too well in the Windows version, so I didn’t put it in, but yes! When I was doing word sprints in NaNoWriMo, I used typewriter mode so I didn’t know how much I’d written. Once the time was up, I’d scroll up and be proud of myself! Weird little tricks we do to ourselves, eh?
    JB – Depends on your definition of “expensive” I suppose? I consider $40 to be well worth it, and they also run periodic discounts if you follow their twitter account (@ScrivenerApp). As for the custom dictionary, you definitely can add words! If you right-click on any “misspelled” name or fantasy word, you’ll see an option to “learn word”. I just haven’t because I’m OCD about some things, and completely lazy about others.

  7. Thank you so much for your great review and scrivi-guide! Can you tell me how to get thesaurus/dictionary to come up? I have spell check ON and it does underline words it questions, but when I try to find a dictionary, nada.
    Also, how do I print directly? There doesn’t seem to be an easy way for that. Right now I am cut/pasting into word when I’m ready to print something, not a disaster, but not as easy as I thought it might be.
    Thanks! Andy

  8. Last question – I swear – am I ‘allowed’ to use this program on 2 computers if I only pay once? I have a laptop that it is on now, but to print, I need it to be on my desktop. Both are macs, but unless I have the prgm on both, I will still have to cut/paste, even if I could print from it directly. I can’t, because I lost the dang printer disk and my laptop now isn’t connected to printing. grrr.

  9. Are you running the Mac or Windows version? In the Mac version, the spell-check comes up if you hit CMD+: (or Edit –> Spelling and Grammar –> Show Spelling and Grammar, which lets you choose the language you want and/or add words to a custom dictionary. If you want to use an actual dictionary/thesaurus with definitions, going to Edit –> Writing Tools –> Look up in Dictionary/Thesaurus will bring up the default Mac Dictionary program.
    In Windows, there’s no actual dictionary, but you can still choose your language/add custom words by going to Tools –> Options –> Auto-correct.
    As for printing, you can print directly from within Scrivener using CMD+P (Mac) or Ctrl+P, but I recommend doing a compile into word (instead of copy-pasting) and printing from there. Both Mac and Windows have a “compile for print” option. In the compile menu you can choose to print the whole document or only certain sections, which you can’t do if you print directly within Scrivener.
    The licensing agreement allows you to install the software on any computer on your home network, but recommends that you only have one instance of Scrivener running at any given time. Running two versions sometimes causes authentication errors.

  10. Pingback: A Picture is Worth a Thousand Cliches: Scrivener in Action « scribotarian

  11. Pingback: A Tale of Two Programs: Scrivener vs. Excel « scribotarian

  12. Pingback: How to Write Your First Novel with Scrivener - LiveHacked

Comments are closed.