4 comments on “Writing: Kill the “Unfaithful Lesbian” Plotline

  1. The thing is, whatserface is just as steeped in this problematic culture as anyone else, and it’s possible it’s simply an internalized and un-examined impression of how things go/how things have to go to have the film made and aired.

  2. I guess I expected better, which is perhaps unfair. I’ve been spoiled by surrounding myself with people (like you!) who are constantly aware of privilege and gender issues, so I look to big names in the entertainment industry to do the same. :/
    There are lots of offensive tropes in film, especially with women, but I think this is one of the ones that can do actual harm.

  3. Thank you for this post! I am still laughing out loud at the “Treebeard” reference. People don’t get it and it drives me nuts! PLEASE DON’T SEE “OUR IDIOT BROTHER”! I left the film depressed.

  4. I just looked up the summary on Wikipedia and it looks like the worst movie ever. I can’t even understand how the main protagonist is supposed to be likeable. And yeah, the ‘unfaithful bisexual woman’ thing is just … no.

Comments are closed.