5 comments on “NaNoWriMo: Why I Gleefully Abandon Life for Thirty Days Each Year

  1. Another great post. I noticed you mentioned in there those people who don’t write but somehow find themselves qualified to comment on how others do it. (ref my earlier comment on your critique post (I think)). I have never tried NaNoWriMo. It’s not for me. I produce about 1,000 words per day on average. Anything more than that would be counterproductive for me. Also, I hate to fail and the prospect of writing off a whole month fills me with dread. But kudos to you and those brave souls who take on this challenge every year!

  2. Whoops, good catch! Fixed. Just goes to show why we need editors, as I always quadruple-check everything before posting.
    Also — I can understand why people don’t want to do NaNoWriMo. Out of my writer friends, I’d say half of them love it, and half of them absolutely despise it. Half of THOSE people still try it every year, wind up not finishing and feeling horribly under-productive and like they failed with writing. I wouldn’t advocate NaNoWriMo for everyone, which is why the anti-NaNo hate confuses me.

  3. I’d like to be one of those (your writer friends, I mean). I’m working on my fourth book: a dystopian SF for the YA market and I’m having problems with outlining the plot. Could we communicate by email? I notice you don’t include your email on your blog anyhwere (or I couldn’t find it). My email for blog purposes is irish.euclid@gmail.com

  4. You didn’t miss the e-mail; apparently I hadn’t told TypePad to show it on my profile. That’s rectified now.
    I’d love to brainstorm! E-mail is definitely the best method, time difference and all. I’ll shoot you one now.

Comments are closed.